Two New Reviews

18 06 2008

Ok, so now that finals are finally over, I can write some more reviews. The first will be Flogging Molly’s most recent album, “Float”. I must say that I was extremely pleased with this album, and I felt that it displays a well-matured Flogging Molly. The band manages to deliver their famous hybrid of punk and celtic sounds while fine-tuning their sound at the same time. Songs like the title track, Float, and The Story So Far represent a slightly mellower, yet still potent, side of the band. Paddy’s Lament, From the Back of a Broke Dream, and Man With No Country, however, keep Flogging Molly’s driving punk core alive, and really drive the album between the slower tunes. All in all, the album is a perfect mixture, and is in my mind a masterpiece.

5 out of 5

My second review will be on State Radio’s “Year of the Crow”. State Radio is one of my favorite bands, and I am pleased to say that they did not dissapoint me with this album. Although it represents a different sound than “Us Against the Crown”, I believe that sophmore albums should be about expanding and exploring a little. Some fans may be upset by the lack of reggae-influenced songs on this album, but I’m sure that this sound will resurface later. For the time being, I believe that Chetro, Maddog, and Chuck have done an excellent job with more of a punk/rock feel, which gives this album more of a drive than “Us Against the Crown” had. Overall, I applaud the boys for branching out, and I give this album highest marks.

5 out of 5

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

